Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

cannot open application, power pc not accepted - Dreamweaver MX 2004

New Here ,
Feb 07, 2017 Feb 07, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello

I have an old version of Dreamweaver - it's MX 2004 which I have been using on a PC to make updates to a website.

I am not a developer, I just have basic knowledge of how to use it to update our own site.  I would like to move the program over to my mac, I still have the original discs but I am receiving a message "cannot open application, power pc not accepted.  My mac is on OS XEL Capitan.    Does anyone know if I will be able to run the program and how I do it?   I don't really need to purchase the new Dreamweaver as I don't use it often enough.  Many thanks to anyone who may be able to help.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 07, 2017 Feb 07, 2017

No can do.  Windows software won't work on Mac & vice versa.

Unfortunately, MX 2004 is waaaaaay beyond its end-of-life and no longer sold or supported because Macromedia does not exist anymore.

If you can work with code, get Brackets.   I's an open source code editor that runs on Mac, Win or Linux.

Brackets - A modern, open source code editor that understands web design.

Nancy

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Download a trial, the lack of color is 90% of the reason users want color coding.

Without color coding in code view, the entire ui is like looking at a blank piece of paper, and just as informative.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

pziecina wrote: