• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

High-ho it's another website rebuild. First, a question regarding sidebars

Participant ,
Mar 03, 2024 Mar 03, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Okay, my site has developed a serious glitch which seems to be related to my using way too many dropdown menus. Or at any rate that's where things started glitching first. I knew that the site was a stop-gap when I uploaded it, so I'm not too surprised to be back at square #1 again. I'm not a web developer and don't especially enjoy it, but I've had the site for 20 years, and don't feel like giving it up. However, at present it's next to unusable.

It's a largish site with something on the order of a couple of hundred pages. So it needs a lot of navigation assistance. It is split up into a number of different collections and sub-collections, but a couple of those contain up to something like 80+ pages, and thats a lot of links.  

The current site uses dropdowns from a fixed-position header. But that doesn't seem to be working out at all. It wasn't *quite* as bad before I split the menus up into many more dropdowns to shorten the menus, keeping fully visible on a laptop screen. But it was already glitching.

The previous iteration of the site used a classic left sidebar with fly-out menus. That site was built in CS6 which included Spry assets and it worked very well for most of a decade. Couldn't handle small screens, because the fly-outs extended beyond what the screen would show, and they weren't exactly scrollable.

I'd really prefer not to have to build a permanent sidebar, since that takes up additional screen real estate. I have been browsing the W3 Schools site, and have seen a number of things that might be helpful, if they worked. Unfortunately, attempting to insert their W3 proprietary code into a test template hasn't been going well.