Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Should we still "slash out" of some tags in 2024? Plus Grid v. Flexbox

Engaged ,
Apr 19, 2024 Apr 19, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Every 4-5 years, it's time to update my personal websites. Naturally, each revision introduces new considerations and methodologies. I'm not a serious coder, I just pick up what I need along the way.

When I first started, it was encouraged to 'slash' out of tags that don't have a closing tag (for XHTML reasons). Ex.: <meta /> <br/> etc.

Since it's about that time to update my sites, what's the word on slash-closing tags in 2024? I'm more than happy to maintain the practice if there's even an ounce of benefit to it on any level; but if it only serves to out me as someone who hasn't gotten the memo that these are useless now, I'll get with the times. 😃

(Noticed WIRED and APPLE still slash out of theirs, while GOOGLE and YOUTUBE do not.)

Added question : if backward compatibility and browser performance are concerns, do you recommend GRID or FLEXBOX in situations where both would work, and why?

Thanks!

TOPICS
Code , How to , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Apr 19, 2024 Apr 19, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Does this answer your question?

BenPleysier_1-1713582586764.png

CSS Grid is a two-dimensional system, meaning it can handle both columns and rows, unlike Flexbox which is a one-dimensional system (either in a column or a row). Another core difference between CSS Grid and Flexbox is that CSS Grid’s approach is layout-first while Flexbox’ approach is content-first.

Wappler, the only real Dreamweaver alternative.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines