Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creating new pgf object

Community Beginner ,
Jan 08, 2018 Jan 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello to everyone,

first of all: I am pretty new to FM and ExtendScript. I am integrating some old .mif files into existing FM documents with ExtendScript.

I am loading the needed parameters via propVal and using the method doc.Import().

Importing these .mif files works properly, but correctly aligning them is causing difficulties because I am not able place the files whereever I want.

As far as I see, there is no obvious ability to create and place a new pgf object in some specific place in the doc.

If that would be possible, before importing a .mif file, I certainly would create a new pgf object and import the .mif file right into it.

Is there a possibility to accomplish this, or do you guys know a better way to do so?
Thanks and king regards

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Mentor , Jan 08, 2018 Jan 08, 2018

Hi selimc,

To put text into a document at a specific location, you need to have some familiarity with TextLoc structures. For a beginner, these can be confusing, so your questions are not unusual. Obviously, I can't give some long tutorial here, but I can give you a little sample code that inserts a new paragraph at a specific place; that is, after the second existing paragraph of the document:

var doc = app.ActiveDoc;

var pgf = doc.MainFlowInDoc.FirstTextFrameInFlow.FirstPgf;

pgf = pgf.NextPg

Votes

Translate

Translate
Mentor ,
Jan 08, 2018 Jan 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi selimc,