Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Low performance when working outside the office

New Here ,
Aug 23, 2024 Aug 23, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I am a technical writer with a moderate knowledge of Framemaker. I am doing a conversion project for a client (FM to ST4).  Last weeks I work from home and the performance of FM dropped dramatically. It takes 1-4 minutes to open a .fm file. Scrolling through a .fm file (no matter how big: from 4-60 pages) is very slow: you watch the page building up almost line by line.

When I work in the office it's working fine.

At home I have no problems with other applications, also the heavier apps like Inventor, I can open several models and work on it without problems.

The client is a small company with an IT department of 1 person, who is willing to help but he says he cannot do anyrhing because the FM application is running locally on my laptop.

I'm looking for advice. Is there anything we can do for better performance?

Thank you in advance,

Liduine

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

FrameMaker should definitely not take 4 minutes to open a file.

Some questions so that we can better understand your issue:

Which FrameMaker version do you have? In the Help menu click About. The latest version is 17.0.4.

Where are your files? Are they local on your PC? Then the scrolling time shouldn't be affected. Or on the company network? Then it could be that it takes more time to download any files.

How large are your FM files? How many pages? Are your graphics referenced (this is definitely recommended)? Or copied into the FrameMaker file? Which file format?

Best regards, Winfried

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines