• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Complete novice, need help extruding to 3D

Community Beginner ,
Nov 15, 2022 Nov 15, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am extremely well versed in Photoshop and do almost all of my work there, though navigating Illustrator feels like I'm reading a foreign language, so bear with me...

I have an Illustrator file of a logo. I need to extrude the whole thing to 3D and add a bevel.

When I select all of the layers and use the extrude option, it only extrudes the portion of the logo that doesn't have a gradient. The portion that has a gradient gets left behind and I get a warning that 3D extrusion doesn't work on all objects.

Is there a way that I can take all of the layers and like, mash them together into one object without a gradient, so I can then extrude and bevel the logo in 3D?

I'm sorry if this sounds like the dumbest question in the world, but I've tried everything I can find in the menus and nothing seemingly works.

Thank you!

TOPICS
Draw and design , Tools

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Nov 15, 2022 Nov 15, 2022

You're right. This is a clipping mask.

As a  3D version - should this be just one solid color? In that case: ungroup the thing, (a couple of thimes, since the clipping mask is buried in several groups. Then select it and release the clipping mask (Object > clipping mask > Release). Then select all and make a compound path. Then apply 3D

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It would help if we could see the thing.

You can select that objet with the gradient and then assign a solid fill using the Color panel.

Unless it is a gradient mesh.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines