Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Dial problem, been a long time

Explorer ,
Jan 22, 2018 Jan 22, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all;

It's been a long time and I'm still plugging away at using Illustrator.  I am not a Graphic Artist and use Illustrator to re-create very old instrument panels.  I have an old Tach with some fancy work and I have to admit that after all these years, I still don't get the Pen Tool.  I know how to use it, I just do so very badly.  I don't even know if that's the tool I want in this instance.  Here is the dial:

Garlits.jpg

My problem is re-creating the red, white and blue areas.  If it were not for the way the ends take off into a point I would not be having a problem.  What would be the best way to recreate those 3 color areas?  The white area behind it is not an issue.

Thanks for the help, I'm sure that I'm just not seeing something obvious.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 22, 2018 Jan 22, 2018

Putting the objects on separate layers is the easy part. Do that last because any groups will need to be ungrouped. Grouped objects all have to be on the same layer.

Once everything is set up, and the new blank layers are created, simply select an object that you want on another layer.

Drag the small dot that represents the selected object on to the layer that it belongs on and release the mouse. The object will be on the right layer and will remain in the exact same position.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Bildschirmfoto 2018-01-23 um 00.05.14.png

You can build that using circles.