• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

gradient mask

Explorer ,
Dec 08, 2018 Dec 08, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm trying to follow this Envato tutorial.   In it, the author has a simple radial gradient from white to 0% opacity.    Somehow she's set it up so that the white obscures everything below creating a nice vignette.   I have the source file but I can *NOT* figure out how she did it.   I've tried every different blend mode, checked appearances, masking mode, etc.

I've been using AI for 20+ years and this issue has me completely stumped.  =[

Thanks in advance.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Explorer , Dec 08, 2018 Dec 08, 2018

I figured it out - tho I can't explain how to describe this technique.

The LAYER Blending Mode is set to "Normal.    But when you select the little radio button to the right of the layer name ("art"), THERE you change the Blending Mode to "Multiply".    Now everything below the radial blur IN THAT LAYER will be masked off.    This is different behavior from Opacity Masks.

Thanks for all the suggestions.

blendMode.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

And in which part of this tutorial do we find the technique?

Have you checked the layers panel in the source file?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied