• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How would I go about trimming a stroke?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 27, 2018 Jul 27, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, I'm very new to Illustrator so sorry if this is a stupid question.

What I'm trying to do is have a path with two strokes, one white and one black stroke, where only a portion of the white stroke is over the black stroke--something like the circled area here. Is there something in Illustrator that functions similar to Trim Paths in After Effects for Strokes?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Enthusiast ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Looks like a dashed stroke over a solid stroke... unless im missing something...

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I should have been more clear. What I'm looking to do is shorten a stroke from either end and control the placement of that stroke. The circled area is what I wanted to achieve without the other white dashes. The example that I gave is a dashed line because that's what I was fooling around when I took that picture , but the circled area is what I'm looking to get.

The only way I can describe what I'm looking to get is trim paths in After Effects. It allows you to shorten a stroke from either the beginning or end of the path as well as offset the stroke.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If I say it can't be done, then assuredly someone will come along and prove me wrong, but I'm not coming up with a way to do that with a single path.

Votes

Translate

Translate