• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

I'm a Beginner: How do I draw and color in Illustrator?

New Here ,
Jan 31, 2017 Jan 31, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The videos I watch on YouTube, they move their mouse too fast. I would like to actually see where everything is. I love to draw, so I opened a drawing that I drew and colored on paper to my 2017 Adobe Illustrator. I really don't understand what goes on while watching those tutorial videos because they draw an entire character, erase it and bring it back. I'm just not sure what's going on. All I know is that I love to draw and would like to see my drawings on t-shirts and hoodies. I'd like to sell t-shirts and hoodies with my drawings on them. I found a company that would do that but, not sure what they'd like it saved as nor the size. I'm not sure if I need to be in Illustrator, Photoshop or any other program to do what it is I'm wanting to do.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Advisor ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Depends on your style of drawing but Illustrator is pretty good for that sort of thing. Can you give us an example of your style?

Doesn't have to be the full image or anything just a snippet of it.

Drawings in Illustrator are best thought of as described... Illustrations... Think either images made of lines or shapes...

This is constructed by drawing paths and then essentially after all the tweaks adding fills for solid colour or strokes for lines.

Experiment by using the brush tool or pen tool to start with and then add fills and strokes of different colours to start to understand what's possible.