• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Illustrator Script

New Here ,
May 04, 2016 May 04, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm brand new to scripting, and have been trying to work my way through a problem.  I have imported a pdf into Illustrator.  It contains numerous objects located in 8 specific areas.  I need to move the data to different locations on the art board.  What I have been doing, is selecting all the objects in each area, making a group of that data (to preserve it's layout), and then moving it to a new specific area (basically, it's outside of the page margins and I'm moving it within the page margins).  This is getting old doing it by hand, as I have over 200 pages of data modify.

I've figured out how to select each artboard in turn (usually 5 to 7 pages).  Now I'm trying to figure out how to select everything in a specified range of coordinates and then group them together, move the group the a new set of coordinates, and then move onto the next selection.

Any hints would be great,

Thanks,

Steve Ford

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Guide ,
May 04, 2016 May 04, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

does this give you a place to start

// SELECTION

// these are pt values

var x = 1300;

var y = 200;

var w = 500;

var h = 1000;

// NEW POSITION

var X = 0;

var Y = 0;

// now put in array

var box = new Array(x,y,w+x,y-h);

var pos = new Array(X,Y);

var doc = app.activeDocument;

doc.selection = null;

var abs = doc.artboards;

var newPage = abs.add(box);

newPage.name = "temp_page";

doc.selectObjectsOnActiveArtboard(); 

app.executeMenuCommand ('group')

var sel = doc.selection

sel[0].position = pos;

newPage.remove();

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines