• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Is there a way to make a shortcut for aligning objects to your artboard?

Community Beginner ,
Apr 13, 2016 Apr 13, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Adobeans,

I am looking for a way to assign a custom shortcut to, specifically, the Horizontal Align Center and Vertical Align Center commands in Illustrator CC 2015. I am a production artist and am constantly centering items in my page when I'm working with pre-created art, so this would be hugely helpful, instead of having to move my mouse up to the Align commands in the top of my toolbar and clicking both of those.

I managed to assign custom keystrokes to the correlating command in InDesign (Align to Page/Margins, etc.), but cannot seem to find a place to type in custom keystrokes for this in Illustrator. Is it just not a command you can assign shortcuts to? Or is there some workaround?

Thanks in advance!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Apr 13, 2016 Apr 13, 2016

You can record an action and assign a shortcut to it.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Apr 13, 2016 Apr 13, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can record an action and assign a shortcut to it.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,
Apr 14, 2016 Apr 14, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Oh, perfect response. I never would have thought of that. Thank you!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,