• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Joining anchors on outlines?

New Here ,
Apr 04, 2023 Apr 04, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, so I'm pretty new to illustrator and couldn't find any tutorial on how to do what I intended

(and I know I'm just clicking about like an idiot but hey 😅...)

I'm trying to make a 3D font which has outlines. The shadow parts should be different colors, something like this but...looking good 😄 (I botched it together then tried to scale the whole thing up as a group. Looks horrible, I know.)

AI0.png

I typed my text and gave it an outline, then I duplicated it, changed the color of the font in the back to black and placed it where I want the end of my shadow to be.

I used a youtube tutorial on how to make a 3D effect on my font with the transform tool in the appearance window. Afterwards, I tried several things (create outlines,convert to shape, expand what have you) to connect the two anchor points you can see on the screenshots but I get the "The selected objects cannot be joined as they are invalid objects (Compound paths, closed paths...)" error message. When I draw a line with the pen tool and try to connect the anchor points, it says "To join, you mus select two end points of the same or two different paths"..as I basically have no end point in my font-to-outline object.

AI1.pngAI2.png

What would you do to finish the task as uncomplicatedly and fast as possible?

Thanks in advance for your help!

TOPICS
Draw and design

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

"The transform tool" - are you referring to the Transform effect?