Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need help writing a script that opens files, deletes layers and sublayers

New Here ,
Sep 02, 2011 Sep 02, 2011

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey all,

I'm a noob to the scripting community, and what I'm trying to do is batch edit files that all share the same layer names and sublayers. I have a few questions that would be amazingly helpful if I could get answered.

I'm unsure of how to set up a script too call out layers that were created without a script. Do I need to create a variable for the existing layers and let the script know what their names are in the files?

For example, I have three files that each have layers named "cutlayer", "trimlayer", "crease" and "artwork". I need to write a script that opens the three files, deletes the "crease" layer from each file, then moves the layer "trimlayer" into its own sublayer in "artwork" (the sublayer can be on top so re-ordering the sublayers isn't a necessary thing to worry about). I don't understand how to write the script because I couldn't find any examples in the scripting documentation provided on the adobe website that worked with pre-existing files.

This is my shot at what I'm trying to do, with English filling in the blanks of what I don't know how to script. If anybody can help me figure this out, I'd really appreciate it!

app.documents.openDlg (prompt, filter, multiSelect);  //user opens all associated files

if (documents.length > 0) //run the script through each document individually

{

sourceDoc = activeDocument;

//delete sourceDoc's "crease" layer

//move "trimlayer" into "artwork" layer

//delete "path" sublayer from "artwork" layer

//run script through each document

//save as new file name in new folder parallel to the current folder on hard drive

//exit and run through each document until there are no more

}

//create new document