Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Preparing Large (Oversized) PDFs from Illustrator Documents for Printing

New Here ,
Feb 14, 2018 Feb 14, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone,

I'm a novice when it comes to printing and I need some advice, please.

I've been asked to design a 2.5x8 metres banner. Because of Illustrator document size limits I created it half the size of the final print (1.25m x 4m), but now I ran into another issue: The print shop wants me to send them the design in PDF format, but when I print to PDF it doesn't allow me to create a document 4 metres wide! When printing into PDF my available options are "doPDF v7" & "Adobe PDF". Both allow maximum width/height at approximately 2.7 metres.

I am now left with 3 options:

1. Print to PDF in even smaller size (0.625m x 2m) and let the print shop scale it up 4 times on the printer to get the required print size (2.5x8).
  2. Split the artboard (and hence design) into two, each at 1.25x2 metres, and let the print shop scale it 2 times, then print and attach the two parts together.
  3. Create 4 artboards, each 2.5x2 metres and split the design into 4 parts per artboard, which can be printed & combined together into the final 2.5x8 banner with no scaling required.

Which is the proper workflow to achieve this? Or is there an entirely different method?

Thanks.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 14, 2018 Feb 14, 2018

Shennoz,

A PDF can always be resized, so 1. is the obvious choice.

Just make sure that the AI document/file is made with the right/sufficient resolution for possible raster effects and raster images.