• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Selecting/filtering on a parent keyword does not include children keywords

Participant ,
Aug 29, 2018 Aug 29, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am using Lightroom 6.  I anticipated that children tag counts will show in the parent keyword, but they do not.  I also anticipated that when I select a parent keyword, LR will include it and all children of that parent, but it doesn't.  What is wrong?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Participant , Aug 29, 2018 Aug 29, 2018

I just noticed that there is a settings icon for the Keyword column.  I opened it and found Hierarchical under View.  I selected it and now it shows the hierarchy.  Now it works correctly.  I am fairly new to LR. I have been working with it only a few months, so there is still a lot I don't know about its features. 

I wonder why this would not have been set by default?  I didn't know it was there, so I don't think I changed it before, unless I did it by accident, and didn't notice.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I anticipated that children tag counts will show in the parent keyword, but they do not. 

That is by design, which not infrequently confuses people. The keyword count in the Keyword List panel shows the number of photos to which that keyword has been explicitly assigned, and it does not include the counts of descendent keywords.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

[View this reply in your Web browser to see the embedded screenshot.]