• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Strange Color Banding When Exporting Images From Lightroom

Community Beginner ,
Nov 05, 2017 Nov 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using Lightroom for years without any problem.  However, when processing recent images from a trip, I've run into a strange problem - exporting the images results in highly visible color banding across my images.  They look very bad, and I'm an amateur with a lousy eye for this stuff.  A few observations:

• It doesn't seem to matter whether I'm exporting directly to 100% quality JPEGs, or to TIFFs in Photoshop for further processing.  (However, exporting full-quality TIFF files - without intermediation from PS - does seem to resolve most if not all of the issues.)
  • It shows up regardless of whether I actually process the image.  Even just exporting the RAW file straight out of Lightroom has problems.
  • I thought the problem was mostly with longer exposures and night images, but it seems to appear (more mildly) even in "regular" daytime photos.
  • While the images seem to look bad generally, they look particularly bad in certain image viewers, e.g., Windows 10 Photos, Flickr.  Looking at them in something like MS Paint looks significantly better.
  • I tried this in Lightroom CC just out of curiosity and had the same problem.
  • I've shot with this camera model before, although these are my first main images with this specific camera.  This is also my first use of Lightroom Classic, so hard to tell if that is a confounding factor as well.

I'm including a number of versions of one image to illustrate the problem.

Unprocessed RAW JPEG.jpg    Processed LR JPEG.jpg  

Unprocessed RAW File Exported To 100% JPEG           Processed Lightroom File Exported to 100% JPEG

Processed PS JPEG.jpgScreenshot Of Processed PS TIFF.PNG      

Processed Photoshop File Exported to 100% JPEG     (Screenshot) Processed PS File Exported to TIFF

Other Sample Image.jpg