• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

When you have both a PC and a laptop where is best to store the .LRCAT file?

New Here ,
May 26, 2023 May 26, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, I am a 73 years old photographer and I have stored on a NAS (Network Access Server) over 580,000 Photographs. I use sometimes lightroom on my laptop and other times on my PC.  Right now I have the .LRCAT file seperately on each computer. I guess its better to direct Lightroom to look for it on my NAS, is that correct? so any changes made will be always on the NAS and both computers will be updated, is that correct? Thank you Elon

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Got an indirect answer. I tried loading the .LRCAT file on the NAS (Server) and tried to direct Lightroom to use the file from there but the Lightroom software gave a message that it cannot wotk with files on a network. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

See my other post. Lightroom Classic can work with the image files on a network, the Catalog cannot be on the network.

Ken Seals - Nikon Z 9, Z 8, 14mm-800mm. Computer Win 11 Pro, I7-8700K, 64GB, RTX3070TI. Travel machine: 2021 MacBook Pro M1 MAX 64GB. All Adobe apps.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied