• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

photographer, final images too small.

New Here ,
Dec 01, 2020 Dec 01, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello I have a question. I am a photographer, I used to be delivering final images around 15mb. Recently I double checked and noticed my final images are around 5mb. Im not sure why this is happening. Ive imported a raw into lightroom, done literally nothing to it, then exported it and it went from 22.9mb raw in camera to 8.09mb (no cropping and no editing done). Why is this happening? Is there an import setting that is making them smaller as soon as they come in? My export settings are 100 quality jpeg srgb, with a resolituon of 300 pixels per inch. 

Erica

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

RAW file size does not equate to JPEG file size.

somewhat outdated, but see: 

https://blog.kenkaminesky.com/on1-photo-raw-review/raw-vs-jpeg/

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Under phote you can "show in explorer".  Then right click on the raw file and verify it's size.  There is a preset when you export to export a full size jpeg.  Also see if you have "Resize to fit" checked under Image sizing in the export dialog.  This will shrink the final size.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Erica,

I just did a test, my image size is comparible to you. I have a Canon 7Dm2 and the DNG size of an image is around 21-ish, 22-ish (depending on how complex the image is).