• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

understanding inner working and trade-off of Basic and Detail sections in Develop

Community Beginner ,
Oct 17, 2020 Oct 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Lightroom Classic. Is there a place where I can read about the inner working of each feature of the Basic and the Detail pannel, and what are the trade-off (what I gain and what I lose when I use each ruler).

For instance, I noticed that in some pictures I can obtain nicer colors by very slightly moving the Blacks ruler to the left, or by moving the Dehaze ruler even more slightly to the right. Results are often equal to my eye. What each of the two exactly do? I mean, I know de-haze takes the haze out. But it has an effect on any photo, even without haze. What is it?

Or what do I gain or lose when I use each of the rulers for de-noising a picture taken with high ISO.

These are just examples. As I try to understand why some pragmatic approaches work, I seldom find the answer in Adobe's help. Any other resource I can use?

Thanks

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are plenty of tutorials on these things on the internet. Here's one. You can search for others.

Basically, in my opinion, there are many ways in Lightroom Classic to get an almost identical effect. If you can't see the difference, then it doesn't matter which one you use.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied