• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Apple Photos and iCloud substitutes to use with Photoshop Elements 2018?

New Here ,
May 12, 2019 May 12, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a watercolor artist who paints from photo references, and I use Photoshop Elements to edit the references to get them as close to my vision for a painting as possible (I combine photos, change colors, alter shapes and sizes, move items, and so on). I am also an amateur photographer who wants to have a simple place to store and organize family photos, and attach text to them that is portable and permanent so a future generation will be able to see what a photograph was about.

I have struggled with Apple Photos and iCloud for the last couple of years. I like that they work well within my Apple ecosystem. I don't like the organizing tools. I don't like  that you can't attach a paragraph of explanation to a photo and count on it staying with the photo if you export it. I don't like how getting a photo from Photos to Elements is rather clumsy.

I thought I found a solution: The Lightroom plan for $10/month. I had already upgraded my iCloud storage to $10/month because of the number of photos I have (almost 20,000), so this seemed a good substitute.

This is what I THOUGHT Lightroom would do:

1. I thought it would easily send photos in and out of Photoshop Elements. Unfortunately, I discovered that, unlike Lightroom Classic, it does not export to Elements, only to Photoshop. The Photography plan (also $10/month) does work well with Photoshop, indeed, it comes with Photoshop, but it has only 20GB of Cloud storage, not 1TB as does the Lightroom plan.

2. I thought it would be possible to put explanatory paragraphs in the Metadata that would travel with the photo and be permanent. I'm still not sure if this is true.