Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need Help with restoring a partially ruined photo

New Here ,
Sep 22, 2023 Sep 22, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello friends.

I'm somewhat new to restoring.  I've watched a few tutorials and tried using the healing brush and clone stamp, but I'm not getting anything that could be close to passable.  This is for personal use, so it doesn't need to be perfect, but the white streak is too distracting.

Thanks,

KimberlyFlora and Alex Gottesmann.jpg

TOPICS
How to , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Try this:

1. Open the picture file

2. Activate the Eyedropper tool and sample the brown background. This will be your foreground color as seen in the color chip.

3. Use the lasso tool to select the area with the white streaks but leave the gentleman's scalp area as is. Delete the selection  with streaks that you have made by hitting delete on the keyboard

4. Go to Edit menu>Fill selection>Foreground color.

5. Press CTRL+D to get rid of the marching ants outline.

6. Open a blank layer at the top and with the Brush tool paint any void areas with brown -- clean up!!

7. Open another blank layer at the top, and press CTRL+ALT+SHIFT+E to merge all the layers---- "a stamp visible layer".

8. Open another blank layer at the top, and activate the clone stamp tool. Clone the lady's hair & the gentleman's scalp.

9. I have left the streak in the eyeglasses as is.

Flora and Alex Gottesmann_2 - Copy.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Sep 26, 2023 Sep 26, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for the help!

Votes

Translate