Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop elements - shape without fill but w/ borders

Community Beginner ,
Aug 22, 2013 Aug 22, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I would like to emphasize a certain spot on a picture by drawing a transparent rectangle with red borders around it. I cannot find how to make the rectangle completely transparent without also making the borders transparent. Also, I find it difficult to be able to change the borders. Any tips on how to make this work? Thank you. As I am a beginner, please be very clear (dummy language) in your explanation. Thank you.

Jan

TOPICS
How to

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

LEGEND , Aug 22, 2013 Aug 22, 2013

You're missing something here.

1. Create a new blank layer.

2.Go to the rectangular marquee tool, the little dotted rectangle near the top of the tool box. Drag a rectangle where you want the outline.

3. Go to Edit>Stroke (outline) selection and choose a color and width for the stroke.

There is no fill, ever. Do NOT use the rectangle shape tool down near the bottom of the toolbox. You are starting with a selection, not a shape.

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Use the rectangular marquee tool to make a selection where you want the rectangle, then Edit>Stroke(outline) Selection to make the border. If you do this on a separate layer it will be possible to move or delete it later.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear Barbara, thank you for your quick response.