• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

What would speed up the performance for Elements?

New Here ,
Jan 11, 2021 Jan 11, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have been using Elements for over 10 years and love the organizer.  The last version I bought was 14 and it just seemed that everything was too slow so I abandoned it.  It would lag when scrolling around or loading the program in general.  I do have a 10 year old i5-2500 CPU and 16 GB of RAM so I am wondering if the CPU is the bottleneck or the hard drive.  I have about 500 GB of  25,000 photos stored on a regular HD but my OS is on an SSD.  Is the CPU the problem or is the hard drive?  Would having the catalog file stored on the SSD help, or would only having all of the photos stored the SSD help?  Or upgrading the CPU?  I do intend to purchase Elements 2021 if I can get this to speed up, as I have been trying the trial version.

TOPICS
Organizer , Performance

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Technically, your computer's CPU does not meet the minimum requirements for Elements 2021.  That does not mean it will not work with the latest version, but some features may not.  Since you have downloaded the trial version, you can see for yourself what will and won't work.

As for speeding up the Organizer, I would only suggest moving the catalog to the SSD.  Are your photos on an external or internal drive?  It would be better to have them on an internal drive, but that may not make a big difference.  A faster CPU will definitely improve performance for Elements 2021, particularly with respect to media analysis.