• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Portfolio Use of Photograph: Is it considered commercial use?

New Here ,
Mar 01, 2022 Mar 01, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey everyone,

I am a photographer just starting out and currently in the process of building my photography portfolio website. I don't know if this has been a topic here before (a quick search revealed no past threads) – my main question is:

Is adding photos to a photography portfolio considered commercial use of a photograph? 

The reason I'm asking is that I am planning on doing some urban lifestyle photoshoots with a model to include in my portfolio (I am based in the US). The photos will be taken from the street so from public domain. I will have the necessary model release, but I am wondering if I need to obtain any property releases for buildings that will most likely appear in the background?

Again, the sole use for these images will be to include them in my portfolio to showcase my work, I am not planning on selling the photos in any way. Now I don’t know if I overthink all of this, but I’m trying to know the legalities to make sure I don't break any rules.

Thanks in advance for your help! 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Mar 02, 2022 Mar 02, 2022

Using an image in a website to promote yourself is commercial use.

from this website https://www.format.com/magazine/resources/photography/photo-release-forms

you can read the following: