• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Public domain age?

New Here ,
Sep 19, 2023 Sep 19, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

How old does an image need to be (e.g., 80 yrs old, 90 yrs old, 95 yrs old, etc.) to be considered public domain, and acceptable in Adobe Stock's library without a model/property release?

[Moderator moved the thread to the correct forum]

TOPICS
Contributors

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I pulled this from the internet and I'm by no means an expert on the subject but "If the creator of the photo becomes known, and the creator passed away before January 1, 1972, then the photo is in the public domain. If the creator of the photo becomes known, and the creator passed away on or after January 1, 1972, then the photo is copyright protected until 70 years after the creator's death."

But I believe there may be other issues involved, such as an image being in control of the deceased's estate. So you might want to do some additional googling for more details.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

More details are given here:
How Long Does Copyright Protection Last? (FAQ) | U.S. Copyright Office

Jill C., Forum Volunteer

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

There are several issues here. The most important issue is that Adobe does not accept public domain images.