• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Apply all the colors of a flat bitmap to a texture to color it

Community Beginner ,
Dec 26, 2022 Dec 26, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie on Substance Designer, I created a texture for a carpet that references a flat pattern created earlier, to simulate the contours of the tufts to make it smooth between colors, the problem arises right here: I don't really know where to put my hands to get each color in the bitmap to be applied as such and such to the base color of the texture, I tried using a Quantize Grayscale to determine all the different gray tones, but it doesn't seem to work at all.
I hope this makes sense, thanks in advance!

I attach below an image of the bitmap:

memphisPattern.png

TOPICS
General , How to , Substance Graph

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jan 03, 2023 Jan 03, 2023

Hi

That was an interesting one as the bitmap did not overlay perfectly onto the 'threads' and of course you want each 'thread' to be only one colour and not have them split. Using a gradient map resulted in overlaps rather than sharply defined threads.

I ended up with a slightly different approach that you may be able to adapt, using a mask to generate the threads for each colour, then combining them afterwards. That way any single thread only had a single colour the way it would in a woven prod

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,
Dec 28, 2022 Dec 28, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you trying to repeat that actual pattern in which case just use a bitmap node and feed it to colour as in the example below

2022-12-28_16-55-42.jpg