• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Paint over parts of Height Map with new height info?

New Here ,
Jun 25, 2024 Jun 25, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,
I am brand new to substance painter so I may be missing something obvious here. Is it possible to add a bottom layer material with Height info (like fabric). Then paint over that height info on a second layer with new height info (like a seam brush) that will replace the height info of the first layer rather than mixing with it? I want the second layers seam brush to mask out the Height info of the first layers fabric, not all of it - just the part where I paint with the seam brush.

Thank you much for any info

SubstanceQuestion.png

TOPICS
Discussion

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Jun 27, 2024 Jun 27, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can make a new fill layer for the height of the cloth, make that layer only write to the height, and then create a layer mask to block out the portion where you don't the height info on the next layer.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thank you for the response,
I'm going to try this but I want to make sure I understand: To do it this way means to paint the seams 2 times:
Once for the mask
Once more for the seam Height Info