• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Video Encoding for DVD

New Here ,
Jan 15, 2014 Jan 15, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been struggling to get more videos on a DVD. Since I'm not an expert on this. Most of my vides are about an hour long and are mostly PowerPoint slides and screen capture of programming demonstrations.

I just keep wondering why DVDs I get to watch TV shows can have 4-6 hours of media when I can barely get two.

Any help would be appreciated.

David

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Employee ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

DVDs you buy for movies and TV shows are double-layered which has 8.5GB capacity.  Most of DVD-R/RW disks for the home burning is a sinble-layer which has 4.7GB capacity.  There is double-layer DVD-R disk with 8.5GB.  But, your driver need to support the double-layder to use this media.

Another way to put more video into DVD is to reduce the size of the video file.  For example of AME with MPEG2 DVD format, you can do this by reducing the bitrate under the Video tab.  But, this results in lower video quality.  You may want to experiment and see which settiings are acceptable for you.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Oh yea. I forgot about the dual-layer. So is two hours the limit or is there a way to squeeze more onto it that still looks good?

David

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jan 16, 2014 Jan 16, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi David,