Skip to main content
popejo
Participant
October 21, 2026
Open for Voting

Confirmation dialog when changing star ratings for multiple selected photos

Hi Lightroom Team,

I use star ratings as my primary and most critical way to curate and value my photography. I spend a massive amount of time carefully reviewing and grading my catalog.

Currently, in Lightroom (Cloud), it is far too easy to accidentally overwrite the star ratings of a large number of photos. If you happen to have multiple photos selected (for example, by accidentally hitting Cmd+A/Ctrl+A) and press a number key (e.g., "3") to rate what you think is just a single image, Lightroom instantly changes the rating for all selected photos. It does this immediately without any warning or confirmation.

While this obviously requires a user mistake, the consequences of this accidental slip-on-the-keyboard are devastating, as it can ruin hours or days of curation work in a single split second.

Proposed Solution:
Please add a simple, toggleable confirmation dialog when a user attempts to change the star rating (or flags) of multiple selected photos at once.

A simple pop-up saying: "Are you sure you want to change the rating for [X] photos?" with an option to "Don't show this again".

This small safety net would save a lot of anxiety and prevent accidental loss of crucial metadata.

Thank you for considering this!

    1 reply

    Community Manager
    October 21, 2026

    There is a confirmation that will appear if you have 100 or more images selected and attempt to change ratings.  It sounds like you would like the threshold to be lower.  From your perspective, is there a point where it would start to get annoying to be prompted each time?  For example, we know there are people who frequently select batches of images and want to update them all at once.  If you’re working through your images in small batches, it could get tedious to see the confirmation prompt each time.  Or would you never find that tedious?  

    Note, if you notice right away that you updated more images than intended, you can Undo the action.  I know that isn’t ideal, just trying to offer options for how Lightroom works today.  

     

    thanks for your input! 

    Translate