Skip to main content
November 12, 2017
Answered

Can I disable the floating page overview numbnail that appears on the right?

I would like to turn off the small overview of the entire page that appears on the right side in Adobe Acrobat Pro DC.

I don't find it useful, often covers up the text that I'd like to read when I've maximized the document to take up the entire screen's width. How could I stop this from appearing?

Thank you for your help!

    AkanchhaS8194121
    AkanchhaS8194121Correct answer
    Legend
    January 19, 2023

    I really like your method. Thank you.

    With a document open, it allowed me to View > Show/Hide > Toolbar Items > Show Page Display Tools > Uncheck Fit to Width Scrolling.

    So now I have zero page display tools checked. 


    Also, at the top of the "Page Display" Preferences page, 
    Default Layout and Zoom, I selected "Page Layout: Single Page Continuous" and Zoom: Fit Width", instead of default. 

    I also made sure that within "Documents" underPreferences, the top box under Open Settings - "Restore last view settings when reopening documents" was checked.

    I think that should really help, too. 

    I clicked OK for each setting change (OCD) just to be sure, and once finished, I closed Acrobat, reopened and well, that should cover it. 

    Thank you, chiropterist, for your heads-up about the Reference XObjects View Mode setting.  Thank you! Thank you!! 


    Hello everyone,

     

    This Floating overview thumbnail appears when "Single Page View" is selected under the Acrobat>View>Page Display setting. 

    To disable this floating page overview, change "Single Page View" to  "Enable Scrolling."

     

    This will bring it back to normal mode, and thing floating thumbnail will disappear.

     

    Thanks,

    Akanchha 

    69 replies

    Participant
    May 27, 2021

    Having the same issue. The small 'x' button to remove this feature is so tiny that I have difficulty clicking it with my mouse. I have tried several of the solutions mentioned on this page to get this feature to disappear to no avil. 

     

    Would someone from Adobe support please provide a solution beyond clicking the small 'x'?

     

    Translate
    Participant
    May 27, 2021

    I don't have much guidance on getting rid of it, but what I finally figured out was that, as this "feature" can be brought up by double clicking the mouse scroll wheel, my mouse was accidentally double clicking the scroll wheel very easily.  I got a new mouse and the problem has not re-occurred.  

    Translate
    Participant
    May 27, 2021

    Thank you for sharing. Since I am a Lenovo user (the mouse is built into my keyboard), I will be unable to try the solution you have found. 

    Translate
    Participant
    March 2, 2021

    This thumbnail appears when you are in single-page mode but zoomed in (for example, pinch-zooming on a laptop).

     

    If you click the Fit To Window And Enable Scrolling button on the toolbar, or View > Page Display > Enable Scrolling it no longer appears when scrolling through the pages.

    Translate
    Participating Frequently
    January 24, 2021

    Thanks very much...a long-term irritating problem solved.

    Translate
    Participating Frequently
    July 16, 2020

    I have tried several apparent remedies, none of them work. Unbelieveable that a billion dollar company has such a clumsy interface. The floating page is extremely irritating and seemingly impossible to eliminate. Adobe also eliminated the the clickable "Zoom" button, and replaced it with a deep inexplicable search into a myriad of links. I think Adobe is headed for extinction, even their employees cant figure out how to fix this after several tries.

    Translate
    Participant
    December 1, 2020

    I had a user run into this issue today and we were able to resolve it, in his case he was using Acrobat Pro XI. This fix doesn't really make sense but what we did was go to full page mode (ctrl + L). Once we did that a little 'X' appeared in the upper-right of the box thing and we were able to close it.

     

    For some reason when not in full screen mode the little 'X' to close was not visible to him. Confusingly enough, after we closed it, we did a double middle mouse button again to make it reappear, but then the 'X' was visible regardless of it it's full screen or not.

     

     

     

    Translate
    Participant
    December 17, 2020

    i have tried every solution posted here and so far none of them work.  it's making my skin crawl.

    Translate
    Sean-Rob-Magill
    Participant
    June 9, 2020

    I still cannot disable this floating thumbnail (also a numbnail) - It is driving me nuts! Adobe made it for some reason, and I need to be able to get rid of it! 

    <----

     

    Translate
    Participant
    May 18, 2020

    Yeah!!! It is so annoying!!!

    Translate
    jimrainorg
    Participant
    May 29, 2020

    I was excited to see someone else with the same problem and the resolution, however this did not work for me in Adobe Acrobat Standard.  I am trying to turn off exactly the same thing but that switch only turns off page numbering up in the toolbar.. Please give me your advice.

     

    Translate
    J. Stuart Johnson
    Inspiring
    November 1, 2018

    I was looking for this as well, I found It buried deep in the "View" menu.

    This is for Adobe Acrobat Pro DC  ver. 2019.008.20080

    Here's how to disable the right hand floating "Page Number" - Thumbnail Preview.

    View --> Show/Hide -- Toolbar Items --> Show Page Navigation Tools, Page Numbers

    Translate
    petersteier
    Participant
    May 20, 2018

    Just check “Enable Scrolling” in the “View/Page Display” menu. Not logical, but works for me.

    Translate
    Participating Frequently
    February 1, 2022

    THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!!

    Sorry ~ getting rid of it was pretty exciting. 🙂

    Translate
    AkanchhaS8194121
    Legend
    November 13, 2017

    Hi l,

    As per the screenshot shared above, it seems that you are referring to the Page Thumbnail?

    If you would like to disable or don't want the thumbnail to appear when you open the document next time, then you may follow the steps mentioned below-

    Choose View > Show/Hide > Navigation Panes > Uncheck Page Thumbnails

    After that, Go to the Edit>Preferences (Ctrl+K)> Documents> Check "Restore last view settings when reopening documents"> OK

    Next time when you will reopen the document, that thumbnail should not appear automatically.

    Related help document for detailed description of thumbnail- Page thumbnails and bookmarks in PDFs, Adobe Acrobat

    Let us know if this doesn't work

    Regards,

    Akanchha

    Translate
    November 15, 2017

    Thank you for your reply. Using your instructions, I was able to toggle the thumbnails sidebar on and off (on the left), but the floating page overview thumbnail on the right remains (see screenshot).

    Translate
    AkanchhaS8194121
    Legend
    November 29, 2017

    Hello,

    I apologize for the delay in further response.

    This seems to be one of the zooming option enabled. That you can check under Acrobat>View>Zoom> Uncheck Pan & View if its enabled.

    -Akanchha

    Translate