Skip to main content
Participating Frequently
Jul 8, 2016 1:43 PM UTC
Answered

Mono to Stereo

I'm new to Premiere and Audition and loving it although I'm stuck. I'm making a short film with narration. I shot the movie and the voice over was recorded on a separate voice recorder which is mono. I used Audition to extract the sound clips I needed to use in Premiere. I now notice that the sound has two tracks, L & R, but the sound is only on the Left and the Right is 'empty' How do I copy the left channel into the right, so it's the same sound in both?

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
SteveG_AudioMasters_
SteveG_AudioMasters_Correct answer
Community Expert
Jul 8, 2016 8:59 PM UTC

Rich Zep wrote:

I now notice that the sound has two tracks, L & R, but the sound is only on the Left and the Right is 'empty' How do I copy the left channel into the right, so it's the same sound in both?

I don't think the others read this quite correctly!

Ctrl-A to select the entire track, then Effects>Amplitude and Compression>Channel Mixer, and select the 'fill right with left' preset, apply it, save the results, and you're done.

I should also point out that this doesn't make it 'stereo' as such, just dual mono, which is rather different...

14 replies

Participant
May 10, 2019 4:56 AM UTC

Thank you! This is exactly what I needed!

Translate
SteveG_AudioMasters_
Community Expert
SteveG_AudioMasters_Community ExpertCorrect answer
Community Expert
Jul 8, 2016 8:59 PM UTC

Rich Zep wrote:

I now notice that the sound has two tracks, L & R, but the sound is only on the Left and the Right is 'empty' How do I copy the left channel into the right, so it's the same sound in both?

I don't think the others read this quite correctly!

Ctrl-A to select the entire track, then Effects>Amplitude and Compression>Channel Mixer, and select the 'fill right with left' preset, apply it, save the results, and you're done.

I should also point out that this doesn't make it 'stereo' as such, just dual mono, which is rather different...

Translate
ryclark
Participating Frequently
Jul 8, 2016 9:37 PM UTC

That was the second option suggested in my post above.

But as others have implied you shouldn't necessarily have to have a dual track mono signal to make the narration come out of both speakers. Surely that's what panning a mono track is for or doesn't Premiere do mono panning?

Translate
SteveG_AudioMasters_
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jul 8, 2016 10:12 PM UTC

ryclark wrote:

Surely that's what panning a mono track is for or doesn't Premiere do mono panning?

I have no idea. I was thinking of installing it to find out what the options are - I suspect that with many of the things that people think that they have to import into Audition to fix, they don't need to at all!

Translate
Paul_Ferguson
Inspiring
Jul 8, 2016 3:31 PM UTC

Waveform View>Edit>Convert sample type>Channels: Mono.  ( The default bitrate of 24 is good, too.)  The resultant mono file will play in either a mono or stereo track in Multitrack, no problem.

Translate
ryclark
Participating Frequently
Jul 8, 2016 6:22 PM UTC

When you use Convert Sample Type/Channels/Mono click on the Advanced tab and set Left Mix 100%, Right Mix 0% to get all of the left channel and none of the right.

Also Effects/Amplitude and Compression/Channel Mixer/Fill Right with Left.

Or Edit/Extract Channels to Mono Files.

Or in Waveform view Toggle R channel off and select all of left channel and copy. Then toggle L Channel off and Paste copied audio into Right channel. 

Translate
Paul_Ferguson
Inspiring
Jul 8, 2016 6:30 PM UTC

ryclark wrote:

When you use Convert Sample Type/Channels/Mono click on the Advanced tab and set Left Mix 100%, Right Mix 0% to get all of the left channel and none of the right.

Interesting.  Does that achieve something that a simple 'convert to mono' procedure doesn't?

Translate