Skip to main content
Participating Frequently
Mar 16, 2012 12:27 PM UTC
Question

Save As...option for online edited recordings

Hi,

I wonder if it's possible to save an edit without the originial being changed. Ie. I would either like to duplicate the recording and edit the second one or after I edit, do a save as...and save it as a second recording. Is that possible?

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.

2 replies

Participating Frequently
Mar 16, 2012 12:42 PM UTC

Also, once you save an edit. Is it possible to revert back to the original?

And, if you download the edited version (via download.zip option), will it give you just the edited part of the video or the whole video?

Translate
Jorma_at_Knox
Legend
Mar 16, 2012 8:45 PM UTC

When you edit a recording in Adobe Connect, you do a non-destructive edit. Meaning you can always revert back to the original version. What happens when you edit a recording is you put an XML file in with the rest of the source files (called edit.xml, if you were wondering) that tells the recording to skip the portions of the recording you edit out.

That said, if you download the source files, it comes with the edit.xml file, which you can edit or remove before re-uploading the zip file to the server.

By re-uploading the zip file to the server you get a second version of the recording that you can edit and modify differently than the original. You can also give custom URLs to the versions you upload, so if you don't like the auto generated URLs, this is a good way around it.

Translate