Skip to main content
Participating Frequently
Jan 7, 2020 8:41 AM UTC
Question

AI keep changing my color

Hi. So it doesn't matter when I worked on RGB or CMYK mode,

the color (and also the code of course) gradually change by itself.

The color keeps changing if I re-open the file even the color mode or settings remain the same.

 

As you can see, the colors on the top is my original color but it turns faded/darker at the bottom.

 

Help? anyone?

Thank you 🙂

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.

44 replies

Participating Frequently
Jun 20, 2024 6:28 AM UTC

i have same problem, this ai file working on iMac 2013 with macOS 10.15.7 with Adobe illustrator 2020.

I've had this problem for a few years..............

Translate
Srishti_Bali
Legend
Jun 20, 2024 12:54 PM UTC

Hi @rickyy10263297,

 

I understand how frustrating it can be to encounter such unusual behavior in your files. I've never seen anything like this in my files. Have you had a chance to try the suggestions shared above?

If it's not too much trouble, could you please share the sample file and a screenshot of your color settings? This will really help us understand the issue better and provide you with the best possible assistance. Thank you!

 

Regards,

Srishti

Translate
Participating Frequently
Jun 21, 2024 11:23 AM UTC

Thank you your reply, The questions from"Ton Frederiks" asked me were very insight. i testing now.

Translate
Participant
Mar 30, 2022 10:51 PM UTC

I had this issue aswell, I couldn't get around it in AI but when if you switch to photoshop you can fill in your AI document with the correct colors that way

 

Translate
Jan 19, 2022 7:28 PM UTC

I had the same problem when I switched to Illustrator 26.0.2. I am working in RGB, and import my brand color swatches each time. Illustrator wants to switch to CMYK every time I open the file. I fixed this with this trick. Everytime I open my illustrator files I just go to File > Document Color Mode > change from CMYK to RBG, then resave the file. When you create a new Illustrator file make sure to select Color Mode > RGB.

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jan 19, 2022 11:47 PM UTC
quote

When you create a new Illustrator file make sure to select Color Mode > RGB.


By @18362545

 

That is a recipe for disaster.

When creating a new file, make sure you select document type of Screen, Mobile or film that already is in RGB. You don't want to convert a CMYK file to RGB, because that will mess up your swatches.

Translate
Participant
Dec 21, 2021 8:40 PM UTC

https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447-illustrator-desktop-bugs/suggestions/44596797-illust...

I'm having the same issue and apparently, cms is auto converting the values to preserver appearance. Which causes the colors to shift. I've posted my work around in the above link. Please check it out. Only happens when images are involved.

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Dec 21, 2021 10:18 PM UTC

What you are describing is not a workaround and the solution has already been posted in this thread.

Translate
Participant
Oct 19, 2021 5:43 AM UTC

Hey.. All you need to do is to change your color mode from CMYK to RGB. Go to File > Document Color Mode > RGB. And RELINK your Image or pdf. If you don't relink your file you will NOT see any changes, So you MUST relink your file.

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Oct 19, 2021 1:03 PM UTC
quote

Hey.. All you need to do is to change your color mode from CMYK to RGB.


By @Manasi5DD1

 

Generally this is not a good advice. You don't just change the document color mode without considering how the artwork will be used.

Translate
Participant
Apr 13, 2021 8:54 PM UTC

I have the exact same problem, that's how I found this thread. These problems with color profiles mismatches started happening in January 2021, just like for you it seems. I suspect a glitch in Illustrator's current version, I hope Adobe can address... Or maybe it's worth uninstalling and reinstalling all the Adobe apps, because they're not synchronizing properly?

Translate
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Community Expert
Apr 13, 2021 9:32 PM UTC

Can you show your Edit > Color Settings?

Translate
Participant
Apr 23, 2021 12:14 PM UTC

I am having the same issue regarding changing colours - working in RGB and colours keep reverting to a dull tone. Here are my settings.. 

Any help hugely appreciated. A

 

Translate
Participant
Jun 22, 2020 4:27 AM UTC

Me too, but I have a trick.

Use the HEX code instead of typing the RGB number, then click OK. This trick works fine on my PC. Hopefully, it works on your PC too. At least it's worth trying. Let me know the progress.

Translate
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jun 22, 2020 9:27 AM UTC

HEX code is just another way of describing an RGB color.

Translate
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jan 7, 2020 10:48 AM UTC

I would choose the settings Europe General Purpose 3 preset and turn on the warnings.

Quit Illustrator and see if you get any warnings when you open an existing file.

Translate
ingekristAuthor
Participating Frequently
Jan 7, 2020 10:51 AM UTC

Ok, there's a warning like this:

Translate
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jan 7, 2020 10:57 AM UTC

You must have saved the file with the modified settings.

Does your color still change?

Translate
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jan 7, 2020 10:42 AM UTC

I always use the default one, but it's always changing the color.

No, the default one does not preserve embedded profiles, but preserves numbers.

Translate
ingekristAuthor
Participating Frequently
Jan 7, 2020 10:45 AM UTC

so, what should I do to make it default again?

I thought default preset means using the setting option from AI

Translate
ingekristAuthor
Participating Frequently
Jan 7, 2020 10:50 AM UTC

Oh I see now, I think I accidentaly change it when checking the box. But I usually do used the default one 🙂

Translate
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jan 7, 2020 10:36 AM UTC

Does it still happen when you reset your Color Settings to one of the default presets?

You may want to turn on the warnings.

Translate
ingekristAuthor
Participating Frequently
Jan 7, 2020 10:39 AM UTC

I always use the default one, but it's always changing the color. So I checked the profile mismatches & missing profile with hope that I could track the changes but that also makes the setting turn to 'custom' 🙂

Translate