Skip to main content
jaimeclaure
Known Participant
December 11, 2017
Answered

How to create custom Guides like Photoshop in Illustrator?

How to create custom Guides like Photoshop in Illustrator?

I want to create guides with 6 rows and 6 columns like Photoshop could generate, is possible this on illustrator?

Andrei Koziakov
Andrei KoziakovCorrect answer
Inspiring
December 11, 2017

Also you can create an object, than make the grid with Object > Path > Split into Grid command.
In this menu you can split the object on rows and columns with sizes and gutters as you want.
In case if "Add Guides" checkbox is active it generates all the guides for this grid.

9 replies

hekselsior
Inspiring
June 3, 2025

I know Adobe is slow on implementing useful user request except for trendy AI stuff, but still I submit a request for this here in this uservoice link.

Please help vote it so at least they may take notice and hopefuly take action.

 

Translate
Andrei Koziakov
Andrei KoziakovCorrect answer
Inspiring
December 11, 2017

Also you can create an object, than make the grid with Object > Path > Split into Grid command.
In this menu you can split the object on rows and columns with sizes and gutters as you want.
In case if "Add Guides" checkbox is active it generates all the guides for this grid.

Translate
Sterphy
Known Participant
May 23, 2023

I don't understand why Adobe are so profoundly incompetent that you can't put in custom guide lines in one app, but can in another 

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
May 23, 2023

Different apps serve different kinds of purposes. 

Translate
barbara_a7746676
Community Expert
Community Expert
December 11, 2017

Another way would be with the Rectangular Grid tool.

You can drag over the artboard with that tool and while your mouse is still down, use the up/down/left/right arrow keys to add/subtract rows and columns.

When you release the mouse, while the grid is still selected, turn the grid into guides under View > Guides > Make Guides.

Be sure to lock guides under the View menu to avoid accidentally moving them.

Translate
barbara_a7746676
Community Expert
Community Expert
December 11, 2017

There's no equivalent command in Illustrator. You can choose View > Show Grid, and the grid increments can be adjusted in Preferences > Guides and Grids.

Translate