Skip to main content
Participant
Jun 6, 2011 5:29 PM UTC
Question

how to keep 300dpi resolution when saving a jpeg from illustrator

I have an illustrator cs4 file set up in 300 dpi. when I save it into a jpeg, it automatically downsizes it to 72 dpi and the quality of the image is really bad. how do i keep a 300 dpi resolution when I save my document to a jpeg file from illustrator?

    This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.

    29 replies

    Participant
    May 9, 2024 9:27 PM UTC

    Hey!
    i just faced that issue myself and believe me or not it was the guidelines that kept me from exporting my JPEG. I it took me 2hrs to figure out that i have to hide them so the program doesn't take them into consideration and making the file gigantic.

     

    Edit: this is a really old thread but maybe my solution will help someone 

    Translate
    Participant
    Aug 16, 2024 4:06 AM UTC

    hey! I just came upon this thread and I have tried everyones solutions above but I'm still only getting 72dpi when I export as a JPEG, despite selecting 300dpi. What do you mean by the guidelines? Can u please attach a screenshot by any chance? Thanks heaps in advance.

    Translate
    Ton Frederiks
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Aug 16, 2024 7:50 AM UTC

    Which Illustrator version do you use? How do you export? How do you check the resolution?

    Translate
    carriel80466725
    Participant
    Jul 12, 2022 7:06 PM UTC

    I don't see a JPEG option under File > Export 

    Below is the screenshot

     

    Translate
    carriel80466725
    Participant
    Jul 12, 2022 7:07 PM UTC

    here is the screenshot

     

     

    Translate
    Monika Gause
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Jul 12, 2022 8:16 PM UTC

    Just select one of those 3 options. Every single one of them will allow you to export a JPEG.

    Translate
    jjdnow
    Participant
    May 23, 2022 9:51 PM UTC

    a Wonky Solution for Illustrator NOT exporting jpeg 300dpi:

    I have to:

    1. export my artowrk in TIFF at 300 dpi, cmyk,

    2. open Photoshop, then export my TIFF to jpeg -

    This works everytime without issues. Perfect nope but your end result will be a cymk or rgb 300 dpi jpeg. Now only if Adobe would have just gave this as a quick solution... (I got your backs fellow designers)

    Translate
    Participant
    Feb 12, 2020 10:16 PM UTC

    There is probably a better or more professional way but this is how I do it:

    When ready to export your image from Adobe Illustrator

    On the artboard, Click on your image to Select

    On the Navigation Bar click Object and select Rasterize

    File > Export

    Select JPEG

    Name your File

    Click Save

    On the JPEG Options screen under resolution

    Select Depth: Custom from drop down

    Enter 300 dpi

    Click OK to save your new jpg

    Translate
    Participant
    Feb 13, 2020 12:01 AM UTC

    I complete this the same as above.   

    Translate
    Mike_Gondek10189183
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Jun 6, 2011 5:49 PM UTC

    Use file >> export >>jpeg>resolution >> custom 300

    Sounds like you were using save for web.

    Translate
    yvesAuthor
    Participant
    Jun 6, 2011 6:02 PM UTC

    Mike, that's not only what I was doing but what I have always done. I thought it was the only way to save it in a jpeg format. Thanks so much.

    Translate
    markerline
    Inspiring
    Jun 6, 2011 5:42 PM UTC

    As I recall there should be an option for export preferences specifying low--72, medium--150, and high--300dpi.  Someone correct me if I am misremembering.

    Translate
    Steve Fairbairn
    Inspiring
    Jun 6, 2011 5:41 PM UTC

    Object > Rasterize

    Translate