Skip to main content
nathand7675830
Inspiring
Mar 19, 2015 11:32 PM UTC
Answered

How to make a pattern into a compound path in AI

I am brand new to AI so please bear with me if this is a very simple question, but I just cannot figure it out. I have about 200 .eps black and white seamless patterns. I have added a few of them to the swatches area so I can fill shapes with my patterns. I can do that no problem. But what I want to do is make the finished patterned-filled shape into a compound path so I can save as an svg and import into my vinyl cutting software. Can anyone explain how I would do this?

[Moved from the generic Cloud forum to the Illustrator forum... Mod]

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
rcraighead
rcraigheadCorrect answer
Legend
Mar 20, 2015 2:27 AM UTC

If simply saving it as SVG does not work, do this:

  1. Object>Expand
  2. Deselect all
  3. Select>Object>Clipping Mask
  4. Delete
  5. Select all
  6. Object>Flatten Transparency>Accept default settings (this will eliminate unwanted groups)
  7. Object>Compound Path>Make

24 replies

Participant
Jan 3, 2024 2:31 AM UTC

Hi select the pattern, go to object in the menu bar<path<outline stroke

then go to object<expand

then object<ungroup

 

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jan 3, 2024 10:18 AM UTC

@Atul Kashyap  schrieb:

Hi select the pattern, go to object in the menu bar<path<outline stroke

then go to object<expand

then object<ungroup

 


 

This does not work. Have you even tried it with a pattern?

Translate
Participant
Dec 9, 2022 2:01 PM UTC
  • Select the objects filled with the pattern.
  • Object > Expand.  Check the Fill box, hit OK.
  • Double click the object to get into isolation mode (You'll be in iso mode for the next few steps).
  • Select > Object > Clipping Mask.  Manually deselect the outline of the object you're in using the regular selection (black) arrow.  Delete all the clipping masks that remain (should just be a ton of squares or something like that).
  • Select all, then, once again, deselect the outline of the object you're in using the black arrow.
  • Using the pathfinder, use the add filter to combine all the pattern's shapes into one shape.
  • Then, with the result still selected, make it a compound path (Ctrl/Cmd 8 or Object > Compound Path > Make).
  • Select all, then using the pathfinder again, use the crop filter.
  • Done.  (you can double click out of iso mode, select it and make it a compound path as well...)
Translate
Participant
Dec 9, 2022 2:02 PM UTC

Just a note... Adobe would be well served to make this a one-button command.  It's super useful...

Translate
Participant
Nov 21, 2022 11:50 PM UTC

Apply any FX + delete the FX = Done..... Illustrator transforms the pattern into an object to apply the FX....

Translate
Participant
Mar 30, 2019 3:50 PM UTC

I have a lattice pattern I have created in Illustrator. My vinyl artists needs to be able to change the color of the lattice in her software. When she tries to change the color it creates a solid filled rectangle rather than just changing he color of the lattice. I am working in illustrator CC2019 and I get the same result she does when I try to change the fill color from the fill color panel in the tool bar.

I tried following these steps but when I select my lattice and go to OBJECT - EXPAND is greyed out. However, I do have EXPAND APPEARANCE. Once I select EXPAND APPEARANCE, EXPAND then becomes available however following the rest of the steps doesn't yield what I need.  I need help figuring out how to get this in a format so she an take the EPS file and be able to change the fill on the lattice color.

Translate
spacemaker-NrAbbP
Participant
Jul 29, 2020 12:48 PM UTC

I have these same 2 problems.

 

- I want to create a pattern that includes my own design pattern fills within it, but when I follow the steps above and get to delete clipping mask- the pattern is no longer constrained in my shape and it gets very  messy. I then have to pu the pattern behind and trim each one, which takes too much time.

- I also want to be able to change a pattern colour easily, but I find I have to go to the original drawing-> recolour artwork-> pattern-> make     for something that seems it should be so simple!

 

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jul 29, 2020 12:54 PM UTC

Which problem exactly do you have? This thread is about SVG files.

And also: please show.

Translate
rcraighead
rcraigheadCorrect answer
Legend
Mar 20, 2015 2:27 AM UTC

If simply saving it as SVG does not work, do this:

  1. Object>Expand
  2. Deselect all
  3. Select>Object>Clipping Mask
  4. Delete
  5. Select all
  6. Object>Flatten Transparency>Accept default settings (this will eliminate unwanted groups)
  7. Object>Compound Path>Make
Translate
nathand7675830
Inspiring
Mar 21, 2015 7:11 PM UTC

Saving as an svg does not work. I just get the image without any cut lines (anchor points) in my outside software.

When I select Object>Clipping Mask, my only option is Make.

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Mar 21, 2015 8:27 PM UTC

Are the EPS patterns vector paths? An EPS may contain raster images.

Translate