Skip to main content
Mark Pad Creative
Participant
Sep 21, 2021 3:52 PM UTC
Answered

Illustrator SVG export circle (O character) offset problem

When I export artwork as an SVG, the Os (circles) within the text are misaligned and filled incorrectly (see attached).

 

I converted the type to shapes before exporting. Same problem.

 

Any ideas?

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
Anshul_Saini
Anshul_SainiCorrect answer
Community Manager
Sep 24, 2021 12:43 AM UTC

Thank you for sharing the details. Is there any particular reason you are using "Export As"? I suggest you to do " File > Save As > SVG" rather than export for better output. I tried saving the SVG file using Save As, and it exported without any issues. I hope it helps!

 

Regards,

Anshul Saini

11 replies

Participant
Oct 3, 2024 2:01 AM UTC

My lightroom app haven't opened for some weeks now, please what could be the issue?

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Oct 3, 2024 8:59 AM UTC
Community Expert
Sep 25, 2021 7:02 PM UTC

Another note on export to or save as SVG:

 

If you plan to place the SVG file in InDesign for Publish Online to preserve vector outlines in the endproduct for example, you must disable option [ ] Responsive. That would avoid severe issues with scaling the graphic in InDesign. No problem with export to PDF, but a bug with Publish Online.

 

Especially see into:

https://community.adobe.com/t5/indesign-discussions/images-not-exporting-properly-when-publishing-online/m-p/12357366#M443485

 

Regards,
Uwe Laubender

( ACP )

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Sep 25, 2021 9:08 PM UTC

That options doesn't make a lot of sense when publishing on the web either. Web developers don't like it a lot and they can invoke it in the HTML code if needed.

Translate
Legend
Sep 24, 2021 7:17 AM UTC

I used to create many icons with text and illustrations and exported to svg files for final output, i suggest to remove any clipping mask from the O (when created outline, and use shape builder tool to make empty from inside.

make it simple as possiple

 

when export, try to use export > export as> svg  with the following options.

 

Translate
Mark Pad Creative
Participant
Sep 22, 2021 3:49 PM UTC

Thanks for getting back to me. To answer your questions...

  • I am using File > Export > Export As, then choosing SVG as format
  • I have attached a screenshot of my settings (or see https://share.nim.bz/BluxA72K)
  • I outlined the text before exporting via Type > Create Outlines
  • The original font is called BECKMAN
  • Layers are also visible in the attached screenshot
  • I cannot attach the AI file so please see https://share.nim.bz/GGupjndL
Translate
Anshul_Saini
Community Manager
Anshul_SainiCommunity ManagerCorrect answer
Community Manager
Sep 24, 2021 12:43 AM UTC

Thank you for sharing the details. Is there any particular reason you are using "Export As"? I suggest you to do " File > Save As > SVG" rather than export for better output. I tried saving the SVG file using Save As, and it exported without any issues. I hope it helps!

 

Regards,

Anshul Saini

Translate
Mark Pad Creative
Participant
Sep 24, 2021 3:13 PM UTC

How interesting! That appears to have worked!

 

I was using "Export As" since that's the way I had always done it in order to use on the web.

 

I wonder what the difference is between the two approaches? I can see some different options, like which SVG version to use, and I don't get a choice over CSS implementation, but otherwise, all good.

 

Thanks!

Translate
Anshul_Saini
Community Manager
Community Manager
Sep 21, 2021 8:00 PM UTC

Hi there,

 

Sorry about the trouble. Could you please share a few more details like:

  • Are you exporting the SVG as "Save As" or "Export As" or Collect for Export?
  • Screenshot of your export settings.
  • Did you outline the text or select the "Convert to Outline" Type option while exporting the SVG?
  • Which font is this?
  • Please share the screenshot of your layer panel and expand all the groups.
  • Is the issue happening while exporting a specific document? If yes, could you please share the document with us? You can upload it to the Creative Cloud (https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/share.html) and share the download link.

 

We are here to help. We just need more information.

 

Thanks & Regards,

Anshul Saini

 

Translate