Skip to main content
Participant
Sep 30, 2024 10:52 AM UTC
Answered

Image trace just produces non-editable image

Hi All

 

I'm sure I'm missing something basic, but every time I try to use image trace all is get is a non-editable (but traced) layer called "image trace" instead of the original image. If I try to select a path, I can only select the whole image. There appear to be no editable paths. I have tried it again and again, followed the written instructions and watched videos but I just can't see what I am doing wrong. Any ideas?

 

Thanks

 

Caspar

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
Ton Frederiks
Ton FrederiksCorrect answer
Community Expert
Sep 30, 2024 11:00 AM UTC

Window > Image Trace > Expand. 

5 replies

Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Nov 30, 2024 12:51 AM UTC

And your point is?

Translate
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Community Expert
Nov 30, 2024 8:49 AM UTC
quote

And your point is?


By @Monika Gause

Monika, the spam message you are reacting to is removed.

Translate
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Ton FrederiksCommunity ExpertCorrect answer
Community Expert
Sep 30, 2024 11:00 AM UTC

Window > Image Trace > Expand. 

Translate
Doug A Roberts
Community Expert
Community Expert
Sep 30, 2024 10:58 AM UTC

Select it and use Object > Image Trace > Expand.

Note that you will no longer be able to edit the tracing parameters after this.

Translate
Participant
Sep 30, 2024 12:22 PM UTC

Thanks! That works.

 

Caspar

Translate