Skip to main content
Participant
Dec 22, 2021 7:18 AM UTC
Answered

Object disappeared

Hello, I perhaps foolishly took away the fill and stroke on layers of a project I'm working on, with the intention of going back later and adding fill colors, however when I drag the selection tool across my artboard no paths or anchors are are selected.  I have Show Edges selected.  The weird part is that most of the layers I did this too, the selection tool was able to pick up the paths and I filled them no problem, there's just a few layers that appear blank, but shouldn't be.  Is there any reason my paths would remain invisible or have I just lost my art?  Thank you for any response!

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
Bill Silbert
Bill SilbertCorrect answer
Community Expert
Dec 23, 2021 1:58 AM UTC

Have you tried viewing the file in the Outline mode (View>Outline). This will show the whole file in just outlines. Any object, even ones with no stroke and/or fill can be seen there. Also make sure that you have not accidentally hidden any objects (Object>Show All). 

5 replies

Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Community Expert
Dec 22, 2021 8:42 AM UTC

Did you check the eye icon in the Layers panel? Cmd or Ctrl click to change view mode.

Can you see the contents of the layer and select it in Outline Preview?

Translate
Participant
Dec 22, 2021 11:05 PM UTC

Yes, i've toggled the eye icon, the layer looks blank on the side where the layer previews are, but it would since the art has an empty fill and stroke.  I also tried switching between outline and preview

Translate
Bill Silbert
Community Expert
Bill SilbertCommunity ExpertCorrect answer
Community Expert
Dec 23, 2021 1:58 AM UTC

Have you tried viewing the file in the Outline mode (View>Outline). This will show the whole file in just outlines. Any object, even ones with no stroke and/or fill can be seen there. Also make sure that you have not accidentally hidden any objects (Object>Show All). 

Translate