Skip to main content
Known Participant
Dec 30, 2017 5:28 AM UTC
Answered

Pathfinder Minus Front creating mess

No idea what is going on with CC18 (mac osx 11.2.1), but the pathfinder tool is not cooperating.

See attached. Merely trying to use a tool I always use to create transparent lettering (knock out of a background). I use the Minus Front tool on two objects, and this is what I get. Odd, unselectable chunks of the background shape. It's not a redraw error, it persists and shows up when placed in indesign.

Any ideas would be really welcomed. Thanks!

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
Grant38114575e6knCorrect answer
Participant
Jul 10, 2024 4:13 PM UTC

Yes, switching the preview worked for me!

8 replies

Participant
Jul 10, 2024 4:05 PM UTC

I know this is late, but did you ever figure this out? This is the only thing I can find about this online.

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jul 10, 2024 4:08 PM UTC

Does it look different with View > Preview on CPU?

 

If not, please share your file.

Translate
Grant38114575e6knCorrect answer
Participant
Jul 10, 2024 4:13 PM UTC

Yes, switching the preview worked for me!

Translate
Simmer1
Community Expert
Community Expert
Dec 30, 2017 11:33 AM UTC

Hi,

It looks like you may have an underlying incomplete path below the Pathfinder Minus Front Group.

You can check if this is the case in your Layers Palette.

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Dec 30, 2017 10:30 AM UTC

This does not go away when you try View > Preview on CPU?

It really does not look like a pathfinder error

Translate
Known Participant
Jan 1, 2018 11:04 PM UTC

No, it does not go away with Preview on CPU. And while I can’t say it’s for sure a pathfinder error, as you can see in screenshot the paths are closed, it’s some kind of Illustrator issue. If the paths were not closed it would be my fault but I’ve never had this problem before.

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jan 1, 2018 11:08 PM UTC

You will need to provide the AI file.

Translate
macpawel
Participating Frequently
Dec 30, 2017 6:37 AM UTC

Your text is converted to Outlines?

You can easily do it using Shape Builder Tool instead of Pathfinder

Just select two objects and choose Shape Builder Tool (Shift+M) to remove letters from background press Alt key and delete leyers from backkground. If you need merge some elements - just use Shape Builder without Alt Key

Be sure your objects are selected before using Shape Builder

If you want to use Pathfinder - try to convert your text into ONE object. Just select only text and convert it into Coumpand Path. - Object>Coumpand Path > Make or faster CTRL/Cmd+8. Then use Minus front option.

Shape Builder is much faster and POWERFULL!

pawel

Translate