Skip to main content
Gareth_Williams
Inspiring
August 22, 2023
Answered

Shape With Little Gaps?

Hi everybody, I’ve drawn an outline of Barbados but I’ve done it by image tracing a map, then deleting all the sea and then merging the rest of the image into one shape. The problem is some of the interior of the island has been left as little gaps. Presumably because they were white on the original image but I’m not sure why! Why not just make a white shape? Anyway, as you can see this makes the stroke go all over the gaps as well!

 

Is there a quicker way of getting rid of these holes than merging a shape over every single one individually? That wouldn’t take for ever but can you just select the outline and fill it in?

 

Thanks for any help,
Gareth

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
Ballookey KlugeypopCorrect answer
Inspiring
August 22, 2023

If you just want the island uotline without all the specks inside it, I would use the group selection tool, click only on the very outline of the island, copy, delete everything, then paste. You should just get the outline. 

 

Unite won't work if the shapes you are uniting are already a part of a compound path (island shape with little "holes" punched in it)

 

Alternately you can select your current entire island, Release Compound Path, (Object > Compound Path > Release) THEN use Unite to merge all the bits into one shape.

8 replies

Ballookey KlugeypopCorrect answer
Inspiring
August 22, 2023

If you just want the island uotline without all the specks inside it, I would use the group selection tool, click only on the very outline of the island, copy, delete everything, then paste. You should just get the outline. 

 

Unite won't work if the shapes you are uniting are already a part of a compound path (island shape with little "holes" punched in it)

 

Alternately you can select your current entire island, Release Compound Path, (Object > Compound Path > Release) THEN use Unite to merge all the bits into one shape.

Translate
Gareth_Williams
Inspiring
August 22, 2023

Oh wow! Group Selection Tool does it! Like you said, if you click on the outline and then paste you don’t get any of the holes. Thanks guys!

Translate
Ares Hovhannesyan
Community Expert
Community Expert
August 22, 2023

Also you can use LIve Paint then Expand Object. For outlinig you can then use Outline Object or Outline Stroke in Effects.   

Translate
Gareth_Williams
Inspiring
August 22, 2023

Thanks. I'll try outline object. I suspect it will just outline all the little holes as well just like with the “Unite” tool. We'll see!

Translate
CarlosCanto
Community Expert
Community Expert
August 22, 2023

try using "Unite" path finder (Window->Pathfinder)

Translate
Gareth_Williams
Inspiring
August 22, 2023

Unite is what I made it with. That's what I meant by “merging the rest of the image into one shape”

Translate