Skip to main content
Known Participant
Jul 13, 2024 12:53 PM UTC
Answered

Trying to make a soft edged black frame.

This must be so simple but it's eluding me.  Can someone please point me in the right direction, in terms of how best to achieve this?

 

Presently I have a black rectangle the size of my artboard.  There is a slightly smaller white rectangle on top, feathered.  I thought maybe I could combine these to make the white area transparrent and export with transparrency to use it as a soft edged mask in a media server.

 

I'm fine with exporting, but I'm struggling to combine the black and the white shape as one, to make the white area punch out.  I have been trying to use a knockout group but I think I misunderstood how this worked.

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
Ton Frederiks
Ton FrederiksCorrect answer
Community Expert
Jul 13, 2024 1:05 PM UTC

You could try to select both rectangles, white on top, and click Make Mask in the Opacity panel.

Clip unchecked, Invert Mask checked.

6 replies

Jacob Bugge
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jul 13, 2024 2:27 PM UTC

Philip,

 

My (mis)understanding your question is slightly different to that of Ton (soft edged mask), so I believe in these steps:

 

1) Set the Object>Blend>Blend Options>Spacing to Smooth or a sufficient number of Specified Steps to get a smooth transition from transparent to (solid) black,

2) Select the two rectangles and Object>Blend>Make,

3) Create the (Opacity) Mask as Ton said.

 

 

Edit: My (mis)understanding your question was a misunderstanding indeed, see below..

 

Translate
Known Participant
Jul 13, 2024 2:58 PM UTC

Another excellent solution, thank you.  I will experiment with both techniques.  Thanks for the help!

Translate
My System: Intel i7-12700H - 64GB RAM - NVidia Geforce RTX 3070 Ti Laptop 8GB - Windows 11 Home 25H2
Jacob Bugge
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jul 13, 2024 4:17 PM UTC

Sorry, Philip, I just realized my overlooking your having a feathered white rectangle, my wrongly assuming an underlying artwork, and my misreading the answer from Ton, so my suggestion above makes no sense.

 

Just go with the exquisite solution by Ton.

 

Translate
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Ton FrederiksCommunity ExpertCorrect answer
Community Expert
Jul 13, 2024 1:05 PM UTC

You could try to select both rectangles, white on top, and click Make Mask in the Opacity panel.

Clip unchecked, Invert Mask checked.

Translate
Known Participant
Jul 13, 2024 2:16 PM UTC

That seems to have worked perfectly, thank you!

Translate
My System: Intel i7-12700H - 64GB RAM - NVidia Geforce RTX 3070 Ti Laptop 8GB - Windows 11 Home 25H2
Ton Frederiks
Community Expert
Community Expert
Jul 14, 2024 7:44 AM UTC

Good to hear that helped.

Translate