Skip to main content
prepress10l71243818
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019
Answered

Unwanted Blue Box (Not in Layers) in Multiple Illustrator Files

I've seen this box in a few files now (not ones generated by myself but by others) and have not been able to locate where it is in the file, move it, or delete it. It does not confine the content, it doesn't move when the content moves, it's nowhere on the layers....I'm at a loss.

What is it?? It doesn't seem to have anything to do with print tiling, but it looks similar.

{Renamed by MOD}

Nicholas310372045wdkCorrect answer
Participant
February 26, 2025

Window > Esko > Trim and Media Box > Uncheck the "Show Trim and Media Box"

29 replies

Participant
December 6, 2019

I realize this is an old topic, but I'm curious. Do you have any Esko plugins you are using in Illustrator? One of my coworkers discovered the the strange blue box could be removed by turning it off in the Esko menu item.

Translate
Participant
February 26, 2025

This is the real answer. Great Job Mark! Go to Esko Menu and Trim and Media box and uncheck the Trim and Medi box checkmark at the bottom of the menu window.

Translate
Nicholas310372045wdkCorrect answer
Participant
February 26, 2025

Window > Esko > Trim and Media Box > Uncheck the "Show Trim and Media Box"

Translate
prepress10l71243818
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019

We figured it out on our end at least for these files! Apparently it was because we were not using the newest version of Illustrator. I still don't know why that would be the case, but it is.

Translate
Jeff Witchel, ACI
Community Expert
Community Expert
July 23, 2019

Now there's outlined type but nothing like your screenshot.

See screenshot below.

Translate
prepress10l71243818
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019

That's so weird. Thank you for trying to help though!

Translate
Jeff Witchel, ACI
Community Expert
Community Expert
July 23, 2019

Do you have another computer? See if the same thing is happening on that computer.

Translate
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019

Is there any sign of it in channels? Maybe a spot channel is locked?

Translate
prepress10l71243818
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019

Where do I find spot channels in Illustrator?

Translate
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019

Open it up in Acrobat and go to Print Production - Output Preview.

That will show all your channels overall saturation levels in CMYK and list any PMS color saturations.

Translate
Jeff Witchel, ACI
Community Expert
Community Expert
July 23, 2019

It looks like you inadvertently switched Drawing Modes to "Draw Inside." This allows you to Draw Inside of the selected object.

Press Shift + D to switch back to Normal Drawing.

Translate
prepress10l71243818
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019

That didn't work :/

Translate
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019

That looks like a Dieline. the solid line is the actual Die (cut line). The dashed line is the bleed needed. Some clever designers build these things as templates and convert them somehow so they can lock it. That way their clients can't accidentally move or resize the dieline at all and assuring an accurately sized print.

What's cool is just prior to printing, their RIP then searches for and places the invisible die (by name, pms color...).

Translate
prepress10l71243818
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019

That's really interesting. I've never heard of this before. Do you know of any way to remove this from the Illustrator File?

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
July 23, 2019

When was your last computer restart?

Translate
Monika Gause
Community Expert
Community Expert
July 23, 2019

Is it still there when you go to View > Preview on CPU?

Translate
prepress10l71243818
Participating Frequently
July 23, 2019

Yes it is

Translate