Skip to main content
Participant
September 19, 2015
Answered

Workspace/interface turned white, it will not change back to grey in preferences interface panel.

In Illustrator (most recent up to date version), I did a shortcut and accidentally turned my workspace to white.  I went to preferences ->user interface ->brightness and changed the color.  It changes the interface except for the workspace color, it remains white. However; if I open a new document it does change to the appropriate color.  I just don't want to copy and paste all my work to a new document.  This happened at work on a PC. When I brought the file home I opened it on a IMAC with the same issue. 

inzari masudiCorrect answer
Inspiring
August 13, 2023

Worked=Ctrl+Y

57 replies

inzari masudiCorrect answer
Inspiring
August 13, 2023

Worked=Ctrl+Y

Translate
Participant
July 5, 2023

None of these worked for me! I have the same problem. Please help

Translate
julij46431931
Participating Frequently
April 1, 2023

Hallelujah!!!! I finally got it to work!!!

Solution:  Ctrl + Shift + H................. boom!!! I mean it took forever.. but thank you who ever said that

 

 

Translate
Participant
January 11, 2023

FIXED!

Pressing preview with *whatever* did not end up working for me, so what I ended up doing was exporting as an ai file and opening it again! Worked for me I hope this helps!

Translate
Participant
June 1, 2022

I had the same issue and I found it!!

Go to View > Trim View and it should go back to normal

Translate
Participant
April 5, 2022

ctrl+shift+h = hide/unhide artboards

it works!! Thanks Guys!

Translate
Participant
January 6, 2022

thank you so much! 

 

Translate
Participant
September 28, 2021

I found that control clicking and choosing the usual color solved the issue.

Translate
Participant
August 7, 2021

A solution if none of those options work is tho check the resolution of your project if its has been changed to a larger width/height zoom out of your project to see the edges and see if that's the problem. If that's the issue you then go to file new find the resolution of the current project ur working on open new project then close and reopen ur previous file it will go back to normal

Translate
Participant
August 4, 2021

CMD + Shift + H or View > Hide Artboards

 

All that this feature does is hide all the artboards and makes the background white. It's a useless feature for 99% of people. Go to Edit > Keyboard shortcuts to disable this. 

Translate