Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Javascript - changing fill color of all text boxes in document

Explorer ,
Aug 22, 2022 Aug 22, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I created several text boxes in a document and I was then asked to change the fill colour of all the boxes to a specific colour.  I wanted to create an action since there are several documents that I need to go through.  I'm new to javascript and I surmise that text boxes are technically numFields (I could be wrong).  So I created the following codes (neither of which worked):

First One:

for ( var i = 0; i < this.numFields; i++) {
    var field = this.getField(this.getNthFieldName(i));
    if ( field.name.indexOf(this.getNthFieldName(i)) > -1 ) {
      field.fillColor = color.green;
    }
}

Second One:

for ( var i = 0; i < this.numFields; i++) {
    var field = this.getField(this.getNthFieldName(i));
    if (this.getField(this.getNthFieldName(i)).type == "text") {
      field.fillColor = color.green;
    }
}

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks.

TOPICS
General troubleshooting , How to , JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Aug 22, 2022 Aug 22, 2022

These are comments, not form fields.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Explorer , Aug 22, 2022 Aug 22, 2022

In case anyone views this thread and experiences the same issue, I managed to get it working with the code below.  Thanks again everyone.

var annots = this.getAnnots();
for (var i = 0; i < annots.length; i++) {
    if (annots[i].type == "FreeText") {
        annots[i].fillColor = color.yellow;
        annots[i].strokeColor = color.yellow;
        annots[i].opacity = 1;
    }
}

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Try to replace this line