• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Two character State field validation

Participant ,
Jan 08, 2023 Jan 08, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have Adobe Acrobat 9 Standard. I created a fill-in form with a field called "State". It is a 2 character field allowing for the US State abbreviation. I would like a way make sure the user enters a valid US State abbreviation.  Under Field PROPERTIES - FORMAT - CUSTOM KEYSTROKE SCRIPT, I already have this code to force Upper case letters.    event.change = event.change.toUpperCase();

Here is a list of all of the US State abbreviations including the District of Columbia.

AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, CT, DE, DC, FL, GA, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, KY, LA, ME, MD, MA, MI, MN, MS, MO, MT, NE, NV, NH, NJ, NM, NY, NC, ND, OH, OK, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VT, VA, WA, WV, WI, WY

I am a total novice with this, so please also explain where I put the final script.

Thank you in advance for your help.

John.

TOPICS
Create PDFs , Edit and convert PDFs , How to , JavaScript , PDF forms

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Community Expert , Jan 08, 2023 Jan 08, 2023

You can use this as 'validate' script of same field:

var state = ["AL", "AK", "AZ", "AR", "CA", "CO", "CT", "DE", "DC", "FL", "GA", "HI", "ID", "IL", "IN", "IA", "KS", "KY", "LA", "ME", "MD", "MA", "MI", "MN", "MS", "MO", "MT", "NE", "NV", "NH", "NJ", "NM", "NY", "NC", "ND", "OH", "OK", "OR", "PA", "RI", "SC", "SD", "TN", "TX", "UT", "VT", "VA", "WA", "WV", "WI", "WY"];
if(event.value){
var check = state.indexOf(event.value) > -1;
if(!check){
app.alert("Please enter correct US State abbreviation

Votes

Translate

Translate
Participant , Jan 08, 2023 Jan 08, 2023

Dear Nesa Nurani