Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Batch Sequence - Renaming Bookmarks

New Here ,
Apr 18, 2016 Apr 18, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

Complete JS noob here. Whenever I have an issue I just google scripts and copy and paste them and adjust them accordingly - I have never written one on my own.

So if anyone is feeling nice enough to write an entire script that I can just copy and paste (and tweak) for this, THANK YOU!

So what I want to do is to automate the sequential renaming of bookmarks. I have created a PDF consisting of other PDFs and have used the built-in Acrobat features to automatically create bookmarks. Instead of having to manually rename all these bookmarks, is there a script out there that can do this? I need to make the bookmarks sequential, for example:

TAB 1

TAB 2

TAB 3

TAB 4

The bookmarks are already in the right spots, all I need to do is rename them similarly to the naming convention used in this example.

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript , Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Apr 19, 2016 Apr 19, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

When I have combined PDFs I always get an additional bookmark with the source PDF's name. How do you want to handle this bookmark?

It is possible to remove these bookmarks with JavaScript.

http://www.planetpdf.com/developer/article.asp?ContentID=RemovingfilenamebookmarkscreatedbyAcrobat&g...

Removing filename bookmarks created by Acrobat

The script puts all the bookmarks into an array and only adds bookmarks that do  not have a file name ending in ".pdf". You could rename the bookmark as part of the process adding the bookmark to the array.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines