Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Choosing between Javascript and Plugin Development using Acrobat DC SDK

Explorer ,
May 29, 2020 May 29, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello everyone, 

I am a beginner in developing Acrobat functionalities and have been provided with this task of having a button added to the toolbar , which when clicked , a popup should appear with a button , which when clicked does two things  : 1) Makes a post request to a server  and 2) Launches  a particular web page.

After going through the Acrobat SDK documentation, I found that Javascript provides methods for two of these functionalities i.e. namely making a post request (using Net.HTTP object) and launching a web page (using launchURL). But the issue with Javascript was , it is not possible to add the button directly to the toolbar, yes I know we can customize the toolbar by adding the add-on tool to the toolbar but that requires some hand work.

On the other hand , the Acrobat SDK documentation provides for adding a button to the toolbar directly using plugins, but I had also read that plugins do not provide support for web services. 

So given the use-case  and the requirements, what would be your suggestion?

Specifically it would be nice if you could answer the following questions:

1) Which one would be better to go with Javascript or plugin development ?

Plugin development related queries:

2) Is it possible to develop a plugin and save it in the plug_ins folder of Acrobat Reader DC and see the plugin in action OR is it that Acrobat Professional is needed to develop plugins ? (this is only to know if I can develop plugins locally on my laptop or would I need Acrobat Pro even for development purposes)

3)Would it be possible to make post requests and launch webpage via plugin development ?

TOPICS
Acrobat SDK and JavaScript

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines