• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Media Encoder Preset Bug - Proxy Preset with modified resolution doesn't stick to clips in queue

Community Beginner ,
Mar 25, 2024 Mar 25, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello friends, 

I am an editor and director and have been using Premiere to edit documentaries for nearly two decades.

Trying out the new Beta vesrsion of Media Encoder to generate some proxies today, I ran into some issues. First, I want to say that I love the design of the new GUI. At least my first impression was that it's clean, minimal and utilitarian. I find it promising after years of bypassing Media Encoder and opting for third party apps like the bygone Mpeg Streamclip for batch transcoding. Great work on the design! 

So, the bug. I loaded a bunch of clips into the queue, dragged and dropped. They're MXF's in 4K (4096 x 2160) shot on a Canon C70. I didn't see a proxy preset to suit my needs, so after some poking around, decided to creat my own. I selected ProRes 422 Proxy. I wanted to make them half the resolution of the original (for speed and efficiency). There was no option to simply make them a half or quarter resolution (a handy feature which other transcoding tools offer), so I manually input the 2K resolution -- 2048x1078. Had to google an aspect ratio cheatsheet which took a minute because I think in aspect ratios not resolutions. So once I have the preset, I apply it to all clips. This was also a challenge for whatever reason. H264 was the default applied automatically to my clips when I dropped them into Encoder, and rather than replacing H264 with the new preset, Encoder creates an additional export setting -- presuming I want H264 AND ProRes Proxy. I can't figure out how to get rid of the H264 setting, so I delete the entire batch and start over.